National Identity Cards

National identity cards are issued to their citizens by the governments of all European Union member states except Denmark and the United Kingdom, and also by Liechtenstein and Switzerland (the latter not formally part of the EEA). Citizens holding a national identity card, which states EEA or Swiss citizenship, can not only use it as an identity document within their home country, but also as a travel document to exercise the right of free movement in the EEA and Switzerland.[1] Identity cards that do not state EEA or Swiss citizenship, including national identity cards issued to residents who are not citizens, are not valid as a travel document within the EEA and Switzerland.