Liverpool have been invited to take part in December's FIFA Club World Cup after winning the UEFA Champions League last season.

Jürgen Klopp's side are set to enter the tournament at the semi-final stage and will look to lift the trophy for the very first time in the club's history.

What is the Club World Cup?

It's a seven-team tournament that pits together the winners of FIFA's six continental confederations and the league champions from the host nation.

This year is the 16th edition of the contest and will be hosted in Qatar. 

Who's in it?

Four participants are confirmed so far, with the Reds joined by Mexican side CF Monterrey, winners of the 2019 Concacaf Champions League, and OFC Champions League holders Hienghene Sport from New Caledonia.

The representatives from CAF, AFC and CONMEBOL will be known in the coming months.

If a team outside of Qatar wins the AFC Champions League, Qatar Stars League champions Al Sadd SC will then feature in the opening match against Hienghene Sport.

When is it?

The first round of the competition kicks off on December 11 before two second-round fixtures take place three days later.

Liverpool and the CONMEBOL representative are already confirmed for the semi-finals, which will take place on December 17 and December 18.

The final and third-placed play-off are to be played on December 21.

As a result, the Reds' Premier League fixture at West Ham United – originally scheduled for December 21 – has now been postponed.

When were Liverpool last in it?

Liverpool travelled to Japan in 2005 for the second edition of the competition.

Rafael Benitez's champions of Europe faced Costa Rican outfit Deportivo Saprissa in the semi-finals, with a Steven Gerrard goal and Peter Crouch double securing a spot in the Yokohama showpiece.

The Reds met Brazilian side Sao Paulo in the final and – despite having three goals disallowed, hitting the bar twice and seeing a strong penalty appeal turned down – lost 1-0 after Mineiro's first-half finish.

Who are the previous winners?

2018: Real Madrid
2017: Real Madrid
2016: Real Madrid
2015: Barcelona
2014: Real Madrid
2013: Bayern Munich
2012: Corinthians
2011: Barcelona
2010: Inter Milan
2009: Barcelona
2008: Manchester United
2007: AC Milan
2006: Internacional
2005: Sao Paulo
2000: Corinthians