Liverpool will be without Naby Keita for Saturday's lunchtime tie with Everton, but are set to welcome back Sadio Mane and Thiago Alcantara.

Keita will sit out the Merseyside derby at Goodison Park due to a fitness issue, Jürgen Klopp detailed on Friday.

However, Mane and Thiago will return having resumed training at Melwood after testing positive for COVID-19 prior to the international break.

Elsewhere, Joel Matip is also in contention after returning to fitness and Jordan Henderson picked up his first minutes of football while on England duty since sustaining a knock for the Reds at Chelsea on September 20.

Alisson Becker remains sidelined, but is making what Klopp described as “big steps” in his rehabilitation from injury.

Liverpool’s only other confirmed absentee is Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain.

Meanwhile, Everton have been boosted by the news that Allan, Andre Gomes and Seamus Coleman are expected to be available for the contest.

“Andre Gomes is available for Saturday, no problem,” boss Carlo Ancelotti said earlier this week. “Allan started to train with the team this week. If nothing happens in the next few days he will be available to play against Liverpool.

“I think Seamus is going to be good, too, because he started to train with us on Monday.”

In addition, Lucas Digne and Yerry Mina are set to be available, while Richarlison, who was withdrawn after 25 minutes in the Blues’ recent win over Brighton & Hove Albion, featured in both of Brazil’s World Cup qualifiers during the break. 

Centre-half Ben Godfrey could make his debut for the club after completing a permanent switch from Norwich City on transfer deadline day. 

But Everton will continue to be without Mason Holgate (foot), Jean-Philippe Gbamin (Achilles), Cenk Tosun (ACL), Jarrad Branthwaite and Jonjoe Kenny (both ankle).

Last match

Aston Villa 7-2 Liverpool (October 4): Adrian, Alexander-Arnold, Gomez, Van Dijk, Robertson, Fabinho, Wijnaldum, Keita, Jota, Salah, Firmino.

Everton 4-2 Brighton & Hove Albion (October 3): Pickford, Coleman, Keane, Mina, Digne, Doucoure, Sigurdsson, Davies, Rodriguez, Calvert-Lewin, Richarlison.