A close-up view of the Premier League International Cup trophy

GuidePremier League International Cup: Format, fixtures and more

By Chris Shaw


Facebook Twitter Email WhatsApp LinkedIn Telegram

Liverpool U21s will begin their participation in this season’s Premier League International Cup on Wednesday night. Read our guide to the tournament.


The competition features 12 teams from Premier League 2 and 12 sides invited from European academies.

They are divided into three groups consisting of eight clubs each – four from PL2 and four from Europe.

Every PL2 side faces each of the four European teams within their section during the group phase and all matches are hosted in England.

U21s match report: Hill and Glatzel goals give Liverpool win over Wolves

AcademyU21s match report: Hill and Glatzel goals give Liverpool win over WolvesA goal in either half from Tom Hill and Paul Glatzel gave Liverpool U21s a 2-0 victory over Wolverhampton Wanderers in Premier League 2.

The top two finishers in each group automatically progress to the quarter-finals and will be joined by the two best third-placed teams.

Knockout ties are one-off fixtures, using extra-time and penalties as required.

Group stage

This season, the Reds are in Group C, alongside fellow PL2 clubs Crystal Palace, Everton and Fulham.

Their European opponents will be Athletic Club, Benfica, Feyenoord and AS Monaco, with the latter first up later this week.

  • Get fixture information directly to your phone by downloading the club's new eCalendar here


  • Liverpool v Monaco – September 27 (7pm)
  • Liverpool v Benfica – October 22 (2pm)
  • Liverpool v Feyenoord – December 6 (7pm)
  • Liverpool v Athletic Club – TBC

All matches will be played at the Kirkby Academy.


The competition is for U23 players, though teams are permitted to use overage players up to a maximum of three outfielders and a goalkeeper.

Last season

Liverpool gained seven points in the group stage in 2022-23, including defeats of Dinamo Zagreb and Paris Saint-Germain, which was sufficient to qualify for the last eight.

Barry Lewtas’ charges were eliminated in the quarter-finals by Palace, however, after a 1-0 home loss. PSV Eindhoven were ultimately crowned champions, beating the Eagles 3-1 in the final.



Facebook Twitter Email WhatsApp LinkedIn Telegram