LFC Women progress in FA Cup with convincing win at Burnley

Match reportLFC Women progress in FA Cup with convincing win at Burnley

Published 12th December 2021

Liverpool FC Women reached the fourth round of the Vitality Women’s FA Cup with a 4-0 victory away at Burnley on Sunday afternoon.

Melissa Lawley's corner kick went in off Burnley goalkeeper Lauren Bracewell to open the scoring in the 38th minute, before Rachel Furness added the second just after half-time. 

Megan Campbell then came on to make her debut for the club on the hour mark as efforts from Niamh Fahey and Lawley completed the scoring.

The Reds had plenty of possession throughout the opening period of the contest, but failed to break down an organised Burnley unit. 

The hosts nearly struck after soaking up 17 minutes of heavy pressure when Evie Priestley pounced on an undercut backpass from Fahey. However, Rachael Laws was quick off her line to make a vital interception. 

But the breakthrough arrived shortly before half-time. 

Bracewell attempted to catch Lawley's lofted corner, only to drop it and watch the ball drift over the line, with Furness adding a finishing touch just to be sure.

Liverpool continued to dominate following the break and they doubled their advantage in minute 57. 

Jasmine Matthews fired a drilled ball into the box that Furness brought down brilliantly, with the forward then applying a calm finish with her second touch.

The visitors continued to search for more goals and another Lawley corner produced the third. The delivery from the left was met at the near post by Fahey, who did well to glance a header into the back of the net. 

With three minutes left to play, Yana Daniels was the creator for the tie's fourth and final goal. Her cut-back from the touchline following a great run was turned home by a calm finish from Lawley.  

Liverpool FC Women: Laws, Roberts (Wardlaw, 45), Robe (Moore, 45), Fahey, Matthews (Campbell, 62), Hinds, Holland (Kearns, 45), Furness, Lawley, Daniels, Hodson (Humphrey, 62).

Unused substitutes: Clarke, Parry, Walters.

Published 12th December 2021