Luis Suarez's sensational season for Liverpool has now been acknowledged by the Football Writers' Association, who voted the Uruguayan as their 2014 Player of the Year on Monday.

Suarez topped the journalists' poll, collecting 52 per cent of the votes, while his Reds teammate and skipper, Steven Gerrard, came second ahead of Yaya Toure in third.

Such recognition comes on the back of Suarez clinching the PFA Players' Player of the Year honour at a special ceremony in London last week - a prize voted for by his peers.

The striker's 30 goals throughout 2013-14 have helped drive Brendan Rodgers' side to second place in the Barclays Premier League table, with Suarez spearheading the Reds' attack in style.

He will now be honoured with the prestigious FWA accolade, which has been running since 1948, at a gala dinner at the Lancaster London Hotel on May 15.


FWA chairman, Andy Dunn, said: "Those members who have been fortunate enough to be working at a match involving Luis Suarez have witnessed an astonishing talent first-hand.

"Tireless endeavour allied to extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination. Add ingenious, impudent finishing and you have a footballer who truly quickens the pulse.

"Luis is a remarkable gifted addition to the long and distinguished list of winners of our award."

Gerrard was the last Liverpool player to win the coveted journalists' prize for his exploits during the 2008-09 season. Prior to Gerrard, John Barnes in 1990 was the most recent Reds player to clinch the award.

Watch the video here »