HonoursLeague titles

1900-01, 1905-06, 1921-22, 1922-23, 1946-47, 1963-64, 1965-66, 1972-73, 1975-76, 1976-77, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1985-86, 1987-88, 1989-90, 2019-20

    Liverpool have been crowned champions of England on 19 occasions, with the club’s most recent triumph coming during Jürgen Klopp’s tenure as manager.

    The success in 2019-20 finally ended a wait for domestic supremacy that had extended to 30 years as Klopp’s all-conquering team added the Premier League title to the Champions League and FIFA Club World Cup trophies to become reigning champions of England, Europe and the world.

    They did so in dominant fashion, winning 26 and drawing one of their opening 27 matches, before wrapping up the campaign with a club-record total of 99 points.

    That was a top-flight title win that arrived some 119 years after Liverpool’s first when, just nine years after its formation, Tom Watson led the club to the 1900-01 championship.

    Five years later, in 1905-06, Watson’s Liverpool were again league winners, with David Ashworth and his successor Matt McQueen then steering the club to consecutive top-flight titles in 1921-22 and 1922-23.

    Liverpool's 'Untouchables' - back-to-back league winners in 1922 and 1923
    Liverpool's 'Untouchables' - back-to-back league winners in 1922 and 1923

    A 24-year gap followed before George Kay made the club champions for the fifth time in 1946-47, and another long wait – which included an eight-season stint in the Second Division – would then come prior to Bill Shankly winning the first of his three First Division titles in 1963-64.

    Further championships arrived under the Scot in 1965-66 and, after a squad rebuild, in 1972-73 amid Shankly’s transformative reign, which saw the Reds rise from second-tier mediocrity to take their place among the elite of English football.

    After Shankly’s departure, Bob Paisley – a title winner as a player in 1946-47 – accelerated the club’s ascent, establishing an era of domestic and continental dominance that featured six championships, as well as three European Cups, in the space of just eight seasons.

    Under the stewardship of Paisley, the Reds won the league in 1975-76, 1976-77, 1978-79, 1979-80, 1981-82 and 1982-83, and then retained their crown after Joe Fagan had taken over ahead of the 1983-84 campaign.

    Bob Paisley lifts his final league title as Liverpool boss
    Bob Paisley lifts his final league title as Liverpool boss

    Another three titles were amassed under Kenny Dalglish – in 1985-86 as part of a Double alongside the FA Cup, 1987-88 and 1989-90 respectively – to take Liverpool’s total to the staggering number of 18.

    Few could have foreseen then that it would take another three decades for the Reds to reassume their position at the summit of English football, when Klopp finally brought number 19 to Anfield.