HonoursLeague Cup

1980-81, 1981-82, 1982-83, 1983-84, 1994-95, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2011-12, 2021-22, 2023-24

LFC Honours League Cup

    Liverpool have lifted the League Cup on 10 occasions, making them the most successful team in the competition’s history.

    The Reds’ first triumph in the tournament came 20 years after its inception, in 1980-81, and sparked an incredible four-year run of winning the trophy.

    Bob Paisley’s side faced West Ham United in the showpiece, though were forced to a replay having played out a 1-1 draw with the Hammers at Wembley after extra-time.

    In the repeat clash on April 1, 1981, Liverpool got their hands on the League Cup for the first time thanks to a 2-1 win at Villa Park – Kenny Dalglish and Alan Hansen the goalscorers.

    The Reds would maintain their grip on the trophy until 1984, beating Tottenham Hotspur on March 13, 1982 at Wembley, claiming a 3-1 win after extra-time thanks to two efforts from Ronnie Whelan and an Ian Rush goal.

    In the following campaign, Manchester United were the defeated opposition in the final, with a 2-1 victory again secured after extra-time on March 26, 1983. Alan Kennedy and Whelan scored for Liverpool to overturn a Norman Whiteside opener.

    Ronnie Whelan celebrates winning the cup in 1983
    Ronnie Whelan celebrates winning the cup in 1983

    After Paisley had delivered three League Cups in a row, in the next season Joe Fagan was the man to oversee a successful defence, with neighbours Everton beaten, though only after another replay.

    The first game at the national stadium resulted in a 0-0, but on March 28, 1984, the Reds saw off the Toffees 1-0 at Maine Road in Manchester, with Graeme Souness scoring the winner.

    League Cup No.5 was clinched more than a decade later. On April 2, 1995, with Roy Evans at the helm, Steve McManaman’s memorable double secured a 2-1 win over Bolton Wanderers at Wembley.

    A further six years passed until the trophy was returned to Anfield once more, this time as part of Liverpool’s historic treble-winning campaign under Gerard Houllier.

    In a nervy affair, it was the Reds who came out on top against Birmingham City at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff on February 25, 2001.

    Robbie Fowler’s stunning finish handed Liverpool the advantage, but Darren Purse equalised in minute 90 from the penalty spot. Following extra-time, Houllier’s men edged the resulting shootout 5-4.

    The Reds toast their victory in Cardiff in 2001
    The Reds toast their victory in Cardiff in 2001

    Two years later, Houllier guided his team to another League Cup triumph, once more in Cardiff. On March 2, 2003, Steven Gerrard and Michael Owen both scored in a 2-0 victory versus Manchester United.

    Liverpool’s eighth lifting of the trophy came on February 26, 2012, as the Reds returned to Wembley under boss Kenny Dalglish in his second spell in the dugout.

    Cardiff City were the opposition, and another penalty shootout was required as the game went back and forth, ending 2-2 after extra-time – Martin Skrtel and Dirk Kuyt were on the scoresheet – before a 3-2 win on penalties.

    It took 10 years for Liverpool to win back the trophy, with Jürgen Klopp the manager to reclaim it for the club on February 27, 2022.

    Chelsea were the opponents at Wembley and after 120 minutes of stalemate, goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher was the hero in a penalty shootout that resulted in an incredible 11-10 scoreline.

    Most recently, Klopp’s team won a record-extending 10th League Cup, with Chelsea again their rivals in the tournament decider on February 25, 2024.

    This time, the Reds claimed a 1-0 victory in extra-time, the crucial moment coming via the head of captain Virgil van Dijk two minutes from the end.

    You have to accept cookies in order to view this content on our site.

    Watch on YouTube