Andy Carroll admits he was left to rue what might have been following Liverpool's FA Cup final defeat to Chelsea on Saturday.
The No.9 came off the bench to pull a goal back for the Reds after Ramires and Didier Drogba had put the Londoners into the lead at Wembley.
Carroll then had celebrations cut short after his powerful 81st minute header was clawed against the underside of the crossbar by Petr Cech and officials ruled the effort had not crossed the line.
Speaking after the game, the 23-year-old told the BBC: "I thought it was over the line. You'll know better than me but I thought it was - I thought it hit the other side of the bar, but I haven't seen it back.
"We had a few chances and could have put them away but it wasn't to be.
"It was unlucky because it (an equaliser) would have taken us into extra time.
"I did the best I could when I came on and we were unlucky."