Liverpool Football Club today remembers the 39 football fans who died on this day 28 years ago at Heysel Stadium in Belgium.

Club flags will be flown at half-mast all day as a mark of respect to those who lost their lives, while managing director Ian Ayre placed a floral tribute at the foot of the Heysel Memorial Plaque in the Centenary Stand at Anfield this morning.

The tragedy unfolded on May 29, 1985, at the European Cup final between Liverpool and Juventus, when what should have been one of the greatest nights in the club's history turned into a nightmare.

Instead of leaving Brussels having seen our team lift a fifth European Cup, Liverpool supporters travelled back to England having witnessed the deaths of 39 football supporters - including 32 Italian fans of Juventus, four Belgians, two from France and one man from Northern Ireland - following the collapse of a wall.

Watch the video here »

At the placing of the floral tribute, Ayre said: "We're here to show our respects to the supporters who lost their lives at Heysel. It's a very important day for the club.

"No football club more than Liverpool knows how important it is to show respect to people who lose their lives tragically at a football match.

"We're deeply rooted in the loss at Hillsborough, but no less with Heysel.

"The club has been blessed, in a sense, that so many people around the world have shown their respects to Liverpool Football Club around Hillsborough - and rightly so we do the same here for the tragedy at Heysel."

In Memoria e Amicizia, in Memory and Friendship:

Rocco Acerra
Bruno Balli
Alfons Bos
Giancarlo Bruschera
Andrea Casula
Giovanni Casula
Nino Cerullo
Willy Chielens
Giuseppina Conti
Dirk Daenecky
Dionisio Fabbro
Jacques François
Eugenio Gagliano
Francesco Galli
Giancarlo Gonnelli
Alberto Guarini
Giovacchino Landini
Roberto Lorentini
Barbara Lusci
Franco Martelli
Loris Messore
Gianni Mastrolaco
Sergio Bastino Mazzino
Luciano Rocco Papaluca
Luigi Pidone
Bento Pistolato
Patrick Radcliffe
Domenico Ragazzi
Antonio Ragnanese
Claude Robert
Mario Ronchi
Domenico Russo
Tarcisio Salvi
Gianfranco Sarto
Giuseppe Spalaore
Mario Spanu
Tarcisio Venturin
Jean Michel Walla
Claudio Zavaroni

RIP - You'll Never Walk Alone.