Reds win 14th title as Paisley bows out

Reds win 14th title as Paisley bows out19 April 1983

Liverpool clinched back-to-back titles by an 11-point margin over newly-promoted Watford.

The achievement was made all the more remarkable considering Bob Paisley's men could afford a horrendous run of late form which saw them gain just two points from their final seven games.

The title, Paisley's last before bowing out in the summer of 1983, was all but won by the end of March thanks to an astonishing run which yielded 19 wins and four draws from 24 games.

The most memorable day of the season came on November 6 – an occasion the Kop still sings about all these years later. Rush scored one, Rush scored two, Rush scored three and Rush scored four in a 5-0 drubbing of Everton in their own backyard.

It took Liverpool just 10 minutes to open the scoring when Alan Hansen brought the ball out of defence before feeding Rush. It could even have been more on the day, with Kenny Dalglish having a goal controversially ruled out after it had initially been given.

Unsurprisingly, Rushie once again ended the campaign as leading goalscorer thanks in no small part to his partnership with King Kenny, which was now at its most potent. The pair bagged an incredible 42 league goals between them.

As well as his four in the derby, Rush hit hat-tricks against Coventry and Notts County, amassing a league tally of 24. Interestingly, nine of these came in the last 15 minutes of games, highlighting Liverpool's knack of leaving it late.

Kenny, meanwhile, landed both the PFA Player of the Year and Football Writers' Footballer of the Year awards.

Then there were the unsung heroes; players like Mark Lawrenson and Sammy Lee, who were just as crucial to our 14th title despite going about their business quietly.

The League Championship was ultimately clinched when Everton beat Manchester United 2-1 on April 19, though the shine was taken off celebrations a little when Norwich prevailed 2-0 in our next home game.

The summer that followed saw Bob Paisley resign as boss – a decision which had been announced 12 months previous - after nine years and 13 major honours, with fellow bootroomer Joe Fagan taking the reins.